Rearview Mirror

looking at the past

"hind sight is 20/20"

I look behind and there you are

It is a safety measure, to check

the rearview mirror before changing lanes

It is no different for driving 

or for a relationship

we must look back before moving forward safely

Will you pass me on the road?

Will you be at my next stop?

the journey is the destination

the journey is the destination

What I do know is time is taking us 

We cannot stop the world from turning

There is safety knowing that you are there in my past forever that story will never change 

And now you are someplace on the road, for how can you be not?

There is nothing else to do in life but live

we go forward into the mystery and create what will be

I guess that is enough

to love no matter if you are behind me or before me

I hope that our journeys cross again

for there is no other I, nor no other you

let us both enjoy the ride we are on for undoubtably this too shall pass….and if perchance we meet

we see us there and then, you beside me.

I am thinking a lot right now about letting go of attachments to outcomes, people, expectations, hopes, desires, and learning to just love NO MATTER WHAT. It is hard because I do not think that is the natural way of the human condition. I think we want safety in what we know, what we have done, what we remember, what we have been told, what we have been taught, and what we think should be. I am beginning to embrace that safety is acknowledging what is, and moving forward from there. This time will not come again and cannot come again. What are you going to do with this moment? Are you going to focus behind you or before you or right where you are?

I am letting go of the past, celebrating the now, and focusing forward…all the while loving myself along. I pray that you are too.

Always, Sal

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Sal that was really beautiful…you really touched my heart and the issues that conflict us all…I find the older I get the more I tend to let go of life and its expectations as well…peace be upon you whereever you decide

    Like

    Reply
  2. LOVE YOU! Finally got to peruse your new site, as I was sending it to a friend who may want a session.
    It is really beautiful… of course… as it is an aspect of YOU!

    You are such a sacred part of my life Saldolphin.

    Blessed Blogs,
    H

    Like

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Sally Aderton's Blog and commented:

    It amazes me sometimes the power of my own writing and it is eternal relevance. I posted this first in August of 2008. It is still so current to my life today. I breathe and I let go again, and again, and again…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

