Writing Our Own Academy Award Winning Story

Sally's Oscar for best Docu/Drama "The World According to Sally"

With all the hype the last month about the Academy Awards, I just had to share the Oscar I got as a gift from my friend Brian Silva several years after the brain surgery. Brian had been in the operating room with me that day doing prayer work at my feet. He got me beading and we shared a lot of God’s work together. Brian helped me get back into the working world though I was always hitting my fears of my hearing loss and damaged face. Brian was my strength, my advocate, my dueling shaman, and my support. The Oscar was from a novelty shop in the Castro District of San Francisco where Brian had lived for many, many years. The label said:

For the Best Actress in an Exciting On Going Documentary~Drama (The World According to Sally) 2001

The story of my life is, has been, and I am assuming will be an ongoing documentary~drama. Brian was right! Don’t you love it when your friends call you on your stuff?! Brian and I had an intense relationship. He and I now have our relationship only in Spirit as we have lost each other along the way. That does not stop me from holding on to my Academy Award from him. It reminds me everyday to think about the movie that I am writing, producing, directing, casting, marketing, and playing for other’s to see.

I want people to see my story as one of letting go and letting Good. Yes, I mean good! When I am able to let go, to not hold on to what I think is the right and true, to listen to the quiet voice of wisdom that observes all, and to act from that place of peace, I then get the good of life. Of course, that is the voice of the Eternal I am talking about. It is the voice that seeks the best possible outcome of what ever life conditions and situation present.

Today my drama includes posting for a house sitting job. I need to move from the place I moved to in November. I knew intuitively I would be leaving in late March or April. I posted one ad on Sunday morning on Craigslist under Housing Wanted. I got one call from Martine who told me she knows it is right for her to have me live with her in Ramona. Martine needs someone to care for her cat and dog while traveling. I said yes to her saying yes to reading my posting. With one posting I have a free place to live until I am not there anymore. Wow what a story!

This is drama. This is living an adventure. This is listening. This is moving forward fearlessly to see what will happen from this decision to accept Martine’s offer. I know that the rocks on the land that she calls home called to me. I am sure that there will be more to this unfolding mystery. Let us hope that although it is a docu/drama that comedy is in the script!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

