Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes…Presence in the Moment is the Place to Be!

Sally Aderton rushing to the next Moment

I am here now to help people live in the present where their power really is. Not the past, not the future, Now.

Have you ever heard about a fact, or person, or random wisdom and suddenly you read about it in the news, or hear about it on the radio or a friend mentions the exact same reference? When these things happen, we call it coincidence. I have been at this spiritual awareness game for so long (since I was 13 and I am 51, you do the math) that I believe this is just the way of life. These are symbols in our waking dream of what we need to listen to for our next step forward into the Mystery.

Today my Louise Hay inspirational message calendar said, “I look upon my past, present, and future with Love.” I read this before I get out of bed to start my day with a focus and mantra. I know I have to focus on now, forgive what was, and have courage for what will be.

In our western post-modern world it is not the present that most people focus on. We live for our next goal, next deal, next relationship, next house, next car, next TV show, next vacation, next promotion, next meal, ad infinitum, and not for now. I call it ‘destination orientation thinking’~ please quote Sally Aderton on that I have the copyright! We do it all the time and wonder why we are not happy. Well, happiness is felt in the now, not later. And, no matter what, the now is going to change and never return.

When I then read my email, as I am prone to do before I even brush my teeth, get dressed, and have breakfast, sad but true, the message came again in a new voice. Here was Eran Sinai’s, a financial consultant from San Diego, Action Quote of the Day:

Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.”
U.S. President, John F. Kennedy

Then I heard something else…again…already and it is 9:26 am on a Tuesday morning and I have been at my computer since 7:39 am…that someone is too busy to talk to me. I hear this over, and over, and over, and over again. It reminds me how nearly every conversation I had with people in 2010-11 included the words-in this economy. I do not know anyone, even my 73 year old Mother and 83 year old retired Father, that are able to keep up and have overwhelm because of it. When is it that our culture will slow down? The sad truth is, never. We have to do it ourselves to make a ripple in the pond to transform the values of the majority of the western world.

When are we going to realize that we might be missing the miracle? When are we going to realize that connection is the only thing that matters. Thus, fear, scarcity, and insecurity run our decisions instead of the peace of the present moment. Xanax exists for a reason. So I am taking a mini-vacation, taking a deep breath, and listening to the birds. I am asking myself what is the best use of this moment. The answer comes clearly and quietly, it is to write it down. Write down my thoughts about change, busyness (very close to business ;-), finances, and the connection to living in the present moment.

I hear David Bowie singing in my head:

Image from Pocket Pictures: Accidental Art & Wisdom

Magic from the moment when time was in charge, not me. click

Changes
David Bowie

I still don’t know what I was waiting for
And my time was running wild
A million dead-end streets
Every time I thought I’d got it made
It seemed the taste was not so sweet
So I turned myself to face me
But I’ve never caught a glimpse
Of how the others must see the faker
I’m much too fast to take that test

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t want to be a richer man
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Just gonna have to be a different man
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time

I watch the ripples change their size
But never leave the stream
Of warm impermanence and
So the days float through my eyes
But still the days seem the same
And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They’re quite aware of what they’re going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Don’t tell t hem to grow up and out of it
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Where’s your shame
You’ve left us up to our necks in it
Time may change me
But you can’t trace time

Strange fascination, fascinating me
Changes are taking the pace I’m going through

Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Oh, look out you rock ‘n rollers
Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes
(Turn and face the strain)
Ch-ch-Changes
Pretty soon you’re gonna get a little older
Time may change me
But I can’t trace time
I said that time may change me
But I can’t trace time

When I Googled to get the lyrics just now and read them. I am amazed. I always thought the chorus was:

Time may change me, but I can’t change time.

I think David and I both got it right! I hope you are paying attention to the moment. I hope you are listening to the messages that come by ‘coincidence‘ weaving the fabric of your life. I hope you are looking at what is around you right now. I hope you are not disregarding something or someone precious to you, because you do not have time. You are right. You do not have time, time has you. Use it wisely.

Always,

Me-Myself-I, Sally, in the Present Moment

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Interesting piece, Sally. Have you heard this Bowie quote: “Religion is for those who believe in hell, spirituality is for those who have been there.”

    Like

    Reply
  2. No, I have not heard that quote Bewlay Sister. Feel free to share this with your readers. I wonder how many of those Fans also heard the lyrics the way I did?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

